Birmingham Fixed Gear

It’s not about the bike; it’s about the ride.

Bloody work!!!

with 9 comments

I had to do a van job, 3 jobs in London. Left 8.45 am, got home at 8.45pm! Saw quite a few fixster hipsters (some who looked totally ridiculous) and cycle couriers (one of whom bumped into the van’s wing mirror, overtook us, then turned up at our destination 5 minutes after us).

birmingham fixed wheel riders
Photo by GuineaPig

ANyway, so, about 6 or 7 people were on the ride tonight, including a girl, which is great!!! I didn’t expect more than 3 or 4 people. I really wish I could have come on this ride tonight, it’s just my f*cking luck that I’d be stuck on the sodding M4 for hours!!!

Next week… more fixed (or whatever you ride) bicycle rides from Brum….

How about a weekend ride, somewhere nice and green?

Written by Captain Buckles

19 June, 2008 at 8:24 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yeah, this was cool. anyone worked out the route on google maps, see how many miles we did? I don’t even know half the places we went.

    H

    22 June, 2008 at 10:17 pm

  2. ye sorry dan – i’m the only one that’s met you and I just forgot

    Bensta

    20 June, 2008 at 11:52 pm

  3. no worries – it’s got to be expected if random internet interaction is our only mode of communication. i finish early for the coming two weeks, so hopefully it isn’t raining.

    dan

    20 June, 2008 at 8:04 pm

  4. Hare n Hounds til 12.30ish… not a bad night all in all.

    Graham

    20 June, 2008 at 8:59 am

  5. was good to meet up, hope the ride back in to brum was not too bad.

    Hope to come again next week

    Dave

    20 June, 2008 at 8:32 am

  6. Dan – am really fookin sorry – it’s my fault this week – last week it was Thom talking too much ; )
    Another Dan turned up at the church and so I assumed it was you!! I said to him that we didn’t need to go the bike shop then cuz ‘you’ were here. He just looked at me blank… but as I didn’t know either of ya I assumed t’was you… fool eh?

    Luckily I will be out of the country for a couple of weeks so ya can’t hunt me down… at least for a while.

    and we had a proper turn out an all… seems like there are about 10 fixies at least for future spins.

    shit, sorry fella

    Graham

    20 June, 2008 at 7:43 am

  7. yeah – i was making myself dizzy riding around the carpark from about 6.45 to 7.15 but didn’t see anyone. never mind. i finish early the next two thursdays, so perhaps i’ll make it up to the park.

    dan

    20 June, 2008 at 7:21 am

  8. eh? what happened? did they not come by the shop at 7?

    I feel your pain, its just my luck that work would send me to london on the same day that i finally have the chance to go on a group ride locally…

    not as bad as what happened last year though. was going to the cycle messenger world championships – it was in dublin, and is usually somewhere way more xpensive to get to, so was really a once in a lifetime opportunity. anyway – my mrs guilt tripped me into coming with her to visit her mate in london for the weekend before the championships, which ended up with me running out of money and i had to get refunds on my train and ferry tickets to buy food for the rest of the month.

    Lee

    19 June, 2008 at 10:57 pm

  9. i got dropped. again. livid. nobody loves me… seeing this many riders, outside a pub, and a fluorescent deep-v rim makes me envious.

    dan

    19 June, 2008 at 10:41 pm


Leave a Reply

