Birmingham Fixed Gear

It’s not about the bike; it’s about the ride.

Hell on wheels Birmingham fixed gear halloween race

with 22 comments


Click picture for bigger version (this pic taken by Shamim)

I don’t think there are any pictures of the racing, because the digital camera is shit and cannot take action photos in the dark. There was no way I was bringing my fillum camera, it would have frozen or something, but never mind that:

I was bladdy surprised to see 13 people turn up, and I was also pissed off that my mask was rubbish, what a waste of £3. We had a bit of police attention, but luckily they weren’t interested and soon disappeared. Anyway, once everyone was present we went up to Smith Street car park to do the trackstand comp. Not everyone could trackstand so the comp didn’t last long and it didn’t get past the one-hand stage. Shamim won it, and recieved a few prizes from Bagaboo.

Next it was the elimination race AKA devil takes the hindmost. We had a bit more police attention while the race was going on, but I don’t think they actually saw the guys racing despite the fact that they were driving along the final straight (well it was actually bent but that’s not important). Anyway – they soon disappeared. The race was fast and exciting, and in my excitement I made a slight error about who was last on one of the laps, but never mind, it was clear that Brakeless Brooklyn Badboy Dan (real name Dave) from Knowle was gonna win it. He is now the proud owner of a House of Pistard t-shirt which can only be owned by race winners.

The final race was a sprint comp, which was awesome, there were 12 contestants, who raced in sets of 3. Shamim, Ben and Mike D were first, and surprisingly to me Shamim murdered them. Next up was Mike Tucker, Harsheek and Dan Goode. Dan killed these guys, and he was riding so strongly that I was actually a bit scared, and I think I wee’d my pants a bit. My money was on him winning it. The next three contestants were Dan (real name Dave) from Knowle, and two riders new to the Brum fixe ‘scene’, Paul and Andy. It was good to see some new faces, and as it happened, Dan (Dave) trampled on them. Lastly we had Dan from On Yer Bike, Nick from Wolverhampton, and Gavin ‘Blacksmile’. Dan won on his new On-One Pompino, which proves that a new bike will make you faster.

So, next, heat 1 winner Shammim vs heat 2 winner Dan Goode. In this case Dan G won, and it was clear that whoever was up against him in the final was going to have to work hard. That person was Dan OYB, having beat Brakeless Badboy Dave.

The final, Dan G versus Dan OYB. It was pretty close, but I could see Dan OYB running out of fuel as he came around the corner, and Dan G took the prize, an Archies Grobags mashton’s pocket thingumyjigga:

Mike Tucker won the HOP/Archies collaboration DFL bag for being last in the elimination race. That must be the easiest prize ever won!

So, a good night was had by all, and some people went to the pub afterwards, Ben broke his pedal somehow, and err… that’s about it really. More photos might be coming soonish….

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] race is sponsored by the good people at House of Pistard, who kindly sponsored the Hell on Wheels alleycat, and also Hell Yeah who I’ve never heard of and who have a really annoying […]

  2. Hi yeah great night loving riding with fellow fixies. I’d be up for another event.

    Drops rule!

    Dan G

    9 November, 2008 at 7:23 pm

  3. i’ll be there
    believe me you don’t want to look at my bike close up. it’s held together by duct tape, pritt stick and locktite.

    paul

    7 November, 2008 at 4:01 pm

  4. Of course – a job for the weekend!

    Graham

    5 November, 2008 at 9:05 pm

  5. Sounds great to me – can you design a digital flyer so I can put it on the main page?

    Fixup

    5 November, 2008 at 12:05 pm

  6. Yes.

    aeronaught

    5 November, 2008 at 11:13 am

  7. I’m there for the alleycat , as ever :)

    Ben

    4 November, 2008 at 10:24 pm

  8. Shame I missed it too, looked fun.
    As compensation tho I am finally free from bloody work stuff to organize Brum’s 2nd AlleyCat soon (as promised). Am thinking of a 10.00am start on Sunday November 30th (Adrian from Sprocket asked for a Sunday so he could join in).
    Marked up maps will be provided… as will top notch prizes for the first and worst cats.

    If everyone is happy then I will do a flyer and a spokey dokey wheel thing!

    So – any takers?

    Graham

    4 November, 2008 at 9:08 pm

  9. Drop bars = 1.

    aeronaught

    4 November, 2008 at 7:58 pm

  10. I decided against lugging my flashes and light stands about, ’cause it induces a fear of being robbed, and I can’t concentrate on what I’m doing. Having to fiddle about trying to balance multiple light sources without the aid of some sort of metering device and constanly unpacking and repacking the gear when moving from location to location is not my idea of a fun way to spend a weekend. I might do some daylight pics one day though, allowing me to concentrate on depth of field and composition. The photos will still turn out as shit as ever though.

    Fixup

    3 November, 2008 at 10:21 pm

  11. Awesome turnout. Pissed that I missed it.
    I want to see everyone’s bikes in close detail (not many drop bars from the pic, nobody like ’em anymore?).
    What ever happened to that photo night???
    Great job Lee you should get a prize next time; a whole case of Dragon Stout!
    I’m all over the next race.

    Fin

    3 November, 2008 at 10:00 pm

  12. pretty much everyone was trackstanding for the starts. at least for the ones i started.

    dan

    3 November, 2008 at 6:08 pm

  13. Next time I’ll make sure it’s a standing start.

    Lee

    3 November, 2008 at 2:03 pm

  14. this was awesome, met some nice new peeps and the location was good too. very well pointed out by Aeronaught, re: clipless pedals and the winners. real winners use toe clips anyway, hehe ;)

    H

    3 November, 2008 at 11:58 am

  15. I probably should have waited until you got your breath back before taking the pic…

    Fixup

    2 November, 2008 at 12:02 am

  16. Great night Lee. I knew I was not photogenic but I look positively spazzy in that pic. I blame the whiskey!!!

    Can’t wait for the next one.

    Davey C

    1 November, 2008 at 11:01 pm

  17. measure it up gav (including BB height centre to floor) and let me know what a ‘nice’ price is..

    ta

    shamim

    1 November, 2008 at 8:12 pm

  18. replace ‘expected’ in between ‘actually’ and ‘to’. Damn dyslexia!!

    Aeronaught

    1 November, 2008 at 6:12 pm

  19. Braps Braps!!! very good night folks… I actually to see like expected 5 fixers but 13 or whatever was cool as ice ( no pun int )… Clipless pedals anyone? hmmmmm. ps Shamim. frame is yours homie for a nice price!

    Aeronaught

    1 November, 2008 at 6:08 pm

  20. Got murdered by Shamim :) ps DAMM my batman costume was the sex

    Ben

    1 November, 2008 at 4:34 pm

  21. yeah – fairplay to everyone for coming out in the cold. we should try to do this regular-style.

    dan

    1 November, 2008 at 4:15 pm

  22. holy jbeebuz!

    I get to see actually how bad my improvised haloween costume looked.

    to think.. I went out in that afterwards…

    Amazing event, thanks to the turnout I think. Shows the huge potential for events in da future innit.

    Shamim

    1 November, 2008 at 3:47 pm


Leave a Reply

