Birmingham Fixed Gear

It’s not about the bike; it’s about the ride.

Photo session innit

with 4 comments

twat

So… earlier in the month, the author of Birmingham’s other fixed wheel information station Spinwell suggested a photo session in Brum. I’ve been wanting to do one for a while, but am too lazy to lug the light-capturing device, two lenses, three flashes and a couple of heavy light stands about various locations.

Of course, I could just take the camera, one lens and one flash, but I like to have as many creative options open to me as possible*.

Nevertheless, I think that if we both arranged a simultaneous photopictureograhpic recordatisationment session, I’d have the motivation to drag my arse and all my gear that I never use, into town.

I don’t want to confirm a date yet as I’m waiting for a digital camera to appear (it won’t be dispatched until the 30th or the 31st), and I have to move house on the 3rd. But I reckon I’ll be able to do it on the 10th. Hopefully the camera will have shown up well before that date, and by then I’ll have charged 16 AA batteries** and bought another 16 disposable ones for emergency use.

Leave a comment if you want your picture taken and are very patient***.

In the meanwhile I’m going to try and find the motivation to save and upload all the photos that Graham sent me, that he took at his alleypig/guineacat race.

*In other words, I like to make things as difficult as possible for myself, and then fail spectacularly, coming back with underexposed negatives/slides, an accidental flashgun breakage, and an angry look.

**yep, 6 for each metz flashes and 2 for each radio trigger. 15 hours to charge 4 batteries = 60 hours of charging in total. That’s two and a half days! Pain in the arse!

***”ok just a few more shots”…”let me just move this flash over here”….”can I get a couple from a different angle, ride a bit slower this time too”… “couple more shots, the exposure was a bit out on the last few…” etc…

Written by Captain Buckles

26 December, 2008 at 9:19 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yo, sellin my bike things lee.

    http://search.ebay.co.uk/_W0QQsassZlickart2004

    some listed here but some still in the cupboard, please spread the word. can come check the rest of the gear out or just wait til its all listed on ebay! a man needs rent paying to him an that.. safe safe.. meryy xmas!

    see ya in the new year no doubt.. rainbow NYE?

    newso

    29 December, 2008 at 9:18 pm

  2. All my photography equipment does work right. Except my brain.

    I’m only good at taking photos in hindsight, i.e. when I get the slides/prints back I know what I should have done, but at the time it wasn’t obvious.

    Digital camera will sort that out though! F*ck waiting 2 days to see results!

    Fixup

    29 December, 2008 at 2:29 pm

  3. If everything worked right, you wouldn’t have anything to blame dodgy exposures and janky composition on, and then where would you be? ^_^

    okto

    29 December, 2008 at 10:05 am

  4. Yo! (late night lurker…)

    if your putting all that effort in up for this whenever you want.

    I can take some of you if you like, borrow another remote flash & SLR.

    And a compact that does very good HD video.

    Oh, got a proper tripod too but its probably excessive.

    shamim!

    27 December, 2008 at 4:01 am


Leave a Reply

